China Travel Info/Cities and Attractions/Anhui

China Map


Anhui Province
Anhui province, called Wan for short, lies in the south-east of China. It has a total area of 139,000 square kilometers, and a population of 58.17 million.
The Yangzi River and the Huai River flow through the province and divide it into three parts: Huaibei, Jianghuai, and Jiangnan. The topography of the three regions is different. Huaibei is flat. Jianghuai is a hilly area. Jiangnan is mostly covered with mountains.
The climate of the province is varied on each side of the Huai River.The northern area has a temperate monsoon climate, and
the southern area has a subtropical monsoon climate. The mainmineral deposits of the province are coal, iron ore, and copper ore.
The chief farm products include rice, wheat, cotton, vegetable oil crops, tea, jute, silkworm cocoons, and tobacco. The province is very prominent in China for its production of vegetable oil crops and tobacco.
Anhui is a major source of coal of southern China. Its industries are metal making, power, mechanical engineering, petrochemical, textiles, food processing, and papermaking.
Transportation in this province depends to a great extent on its railways, but roads and waterways are also quite convenient. Anhui is famous for its picturesque mountains and rivers. Huangshan, Jiuhuashan, Tiazhushan, and Qiyunshan are well-known mountains, and the region's premier tourist attractions. The special locally-made products include Xuan paper, Chinese paint-brushes, Gujinggong liqueur, and the Huaibei Kouzi liqueur.